A Healthy Working Environment For Everyone

BOHS Structure

BOHS structure


out more

General Structure

BOHS is incorporated as a limited liability Royal Charter company registered with The Privy Council and Companies House. It is also a registered charity with the Charities Commission.

The Society is governed by its members through a board of directors, known as the Council, and the Faculty Board, which reports to Council through its Registrar. It also has a range of committees, chaired by members and with input from other volunteers and staff. These committees, alongside a team of regional organisers and volunteers from BOHS membership, provide technical, strategic and project-by-project input to the Society’s various initiatives and on-going activities.

Head Office

BOHS Head Office is led by our Chief Executive who is directly accountable to Council, with a senior management team responsible for;

  • Qualifications and training
  • Member services
  • Conferences
  • Research
  • International services
  • Communications and marketing
  • Operations and finance

Senior Management Team

Simon Festing 2

Chief Executive Officer: Simon Festing

Simon joined BOHS in November 2017. He has held several held senior positions in a number of third sector organisations, including: Head of Policy and Public Affairs at the British Heart Foundation; Chief Executive at both the Chartered Institution of Water and Environmental Management, and the Society for General Microbiology.  He is highly experienced in business development; strategy; organisational change; operational delivery; and multi-stakeholder environments.

Simon has also held a number of non-executive roles, and is currently a member of the Board of the Trustees of The Science Council. In his earlier career, he qualified as a Doctor of Medicine; practised as a Hospital Doctor; and also attained an MSc in Environmental Technology.

Shani 4

Head of Member Services: Shani Jackson

Shani joined BOHS in June 2015, and is highly experienced in many key business areas including: business management, people management and customer experience improvements. In addition to working for commercial organisations, she has also spent a number of years in the voluntary sector, including working in Malawi as an Organisation Development Advisor to a medical training college. With a BA in Social Sciences, Shani was awarded an MSc in Human Resources Management and Development in 2017. Having originally joined BOHS to lead the focus on business improvement projects within the Qualifications team, Shani is now Head of Member Services, and due to her academic and professional background, Shani is currently leading the human resources strategy and policy for BOHS.

Evi 2

Head of Communications & Marketing: Evi Karmou

Evi joined BOHS in May 2017. She has a background of working for dynamic and commercially driven companies, mainly in the hospitality sector, and is highly skilled in delivering high impact campaigns on both local and national levels.  With experience of the whole marketing mix, she brings both breadth and depth of expertise in marketing and communications.

Evi has a BSc in Marketing and Communications, in which her specialist subject was Corporate Communications; she also has an MA in Public Relations Practice.


Head of Commercial Operations - Qualifications and Training: Lisa Williams

Lisa joined BOHS in November 2017.  She has wide experience of commercial operations and project management, in addition to a background in human resources.  Lisa has held leadership roles across diverse teams and industries in both the UK and the USA, in public and private sector organisations.

Lisa has an MSc in Human Resource Management, and a Post Graduate Certificate in Education. She is a member of the Chartered Institute of Personnel and Development, and supports their South Yorkshire branch in a voluntary capacity with marketing and communication activities.


BOHS Council

The Council normally comprises six officers and six other ordinary members, all of whom are members of BOHS. The six officers are: the President, the President-Elect, the Immediate Past President, the Honorary Secretary, the Honorary Treasurer, and the Registrar of the Faculty.

The President serves a term of one year, which runs from our Annual General Meeting (AGM) at the Annual Conference in April/May, through to the following year’s AGM, when he or she becomes Immediate Past President for the year. The election of the President-Elect takes place at the AGM.

The Honorary Secretary, Honorary Treasurer and Registrar are also elected on an annual basis, at the AGM, but can be re-elected indefinitely.

The ordinary Council members serve for a three year term, for a maximum of two consecutive terms, and these elections also take place at the AGM.

Council members: April 2018 - April 2019

President: Neil Grace
Immediate Past President: Karen Bufton
President-Elect: John Dobbie
Honorary Secretary: Alex Wilson
Honorary Treasurer: Amanda Parker

Registrar of Faculty of Occupational Hygiene: Neil Pickering

Ordinary Members of Council :

  • Douglas Collin
  • Jonathan Grant
  • Kate Jones
  • Marian Molloy
  • Helen Pearson
  • Kelvin Williams

Faculty of Occupational Hygiene

The Faculty of Occupational Hygiene is the professional arm of BOHS. Membership is restricted to BOHS members with specific qualifications in occupational hygiene and related subjects. All members of the Faculty are required to abide by its Code of Ethics. This has been developed to ensure that they act in such a way that the protection and preservation of worker health remains their paramount responsibility at all times, and to guide those who may be subject to contradictory pressures and enable them to act with integrity and objectivity. The Code of Ethics also provides a benchmark for clients, employers, other professionals and members of the general public to use where there is a question as to whether Faculty members have conducted themselves in an appropriate manner.

The Faculty Board consists of:

Registrar: Neil Pickering
Chief Examiner: Len Morris

Faculty Board Members:

  • Carol Bladon
  • Jason Hodgkiss
  • Sarah Leeson
  • Robert Preson
  • Duncan Smith

The role of the Faculty

As the examining board for the profession, the Faculty administers a suite of examinations and awards qualifications in occupational hygiene and allied subjects, with a qualifications’ verification service also provided.

The Faculty also runs the Continuing Professional Development (CPD) Scheme, which is mandatory for all non-retired Faculty members.

It maintains a Directory of Occupational Hygiene Services, which is available online or in hard copy, and is free of charge. Please click here to visit the Directory.