A Healthy Working Environment For Everyone

BOHS Awards


not apply?

To demonstrate its continuing commitment to the occupational hygiene profession, BOHS is proud to make a number of annual awards.

3M Young Hygienist Award

Now in its sixth year, this annual award is sponsored by 3M, and aims to recognise talent and stimulate professional development in young hygienists. 

Why not apply for this year's award, and win over £1,000 of benefits, which could enhance your career? Entry for applications is now open, and will close on 23 February 2018. Find out more here.

The winner of the 2017 prize was awarded to Robert Williams in his discussion of the following questions:

  • Do you agree with the Workplace Health Triangle as a picture of the main areas of occupational health?
  • Explain how you think employers should approach health, given the urgent need to improve the current burden of occupational disease (UK deaths from diseases are currently 13,000, according to HSE Statistics 2014/15).

Click on this link to view Robert's essay.

The Thomas Bedford Memorial Prize

Launched in 1967 and named after the first President of BOHS, Thomas Bedford CBE, this prize is awarded not more than once every two years, to the author or authors of the most outstanding paper published in Annals of Work Exposures and Health.

Thomas Bedford Prize

Launched in 1978 and named after the first President of BOHS, Thomas Bedford CBE, this prize is awarded for outstanding contribution to the discipline of occupation hygiene: contribution in either general work in the field, or involvement and with and impact on the work of the Society.

The Peter Isaac Award: ‘Working For a Healthier Workplace'

Initiated in recognition of BOHS’ Golden Jubilee in 2003, the Peter Isaac Award is made annually in recognition of an outstanding contribution to the reduction of ill-health at work: either by an individual, a team, or an organisation.

The Ted King and David Hickish Awards

These awards recognise the best candidates during the year, of those who have achieved the BOHS Certificate of Operational Competence in Occupational Hygiene, and the BOHS Diploma of Professional Competence in Occupational Hygiene, respectively.

The Trevor Ogden Award

Initiated in recognition of BOHS’ 60th Anniversary in 2013, the Trevor Ogden Award recognises outstanding voluntary contributions to BOHS, or to the profession of occupational hygiene.