Bedford Prize

Introduced in 1967 and named after our first President, Dr. Thomas Bedford, the Bedford Prize is awarded every two years to the author or authors of the most outstanding paper published in Annals of Work Exposures and Health.

How to make a nomination

Browse issues published in 2022 and 2023 (Volumes 66 and 67). Email with up to three nominations by 31 May 2024.

Read Annals papers here

Who was Dr Thomas Bedford?

In the 1920s, Thomas Bedford worked within occupational health, for the Industrial Fatigue Research Board for the Medical Research Council, as an investigator. At the time, he was researching the laboratories, factories, workshops and mines.

Thomas Bedford

In 1945, Thomas became renowned for his publication of the ‘M.C.R War Memorandum No17 on Environmental Warmth and its Measurements’, which saw issues, such as medical officers not being able to use various equipment due to lack of knowledge, being highlighted and resolved.

It was after this that Thomas specialised in researching thermal comfort, and in 1948 he wrote a book on his research on the ‘basic principles of heating and ventilating’. Thomas went on to revise his book, releasing a second edition shortly before he passed away. Researchers still use his books as a foundation for further research in thermal environments today.

Thomas Bedford was a founding member and the first President of our Society. His determination to progress the initiative, along with the determination of the other 49 founding members, is the reason the British Occupational Hygiene Society exists today.