Clearance Testing and the Requirements of a Certificate for Reoccupation P404

For asbestos removal and remediation projects, an independent asbestos analyst should be employed to conduct a thorough clearance inspection of the site. This is to check that control measures are effective, asbestos materials have been managed accordingly (removed / encapsulated / repaired), and method statements have been followed. There is also a legal requirement for asbestos analysts to undertake formal training in their role, as outlined in the Control of Asbestos Regulations (CAR) 2012, Regulation 10, and HSG248: Asbestos: The Analysts’ Guide (2nd edition, July 2021).

The P404 qualification is the industry standard for asbestos site analysts. It gives you the skills and knowledge required to thoroughly and safely undertake all four stages of the clearance process. It also teaches you how to identify any outstanding asbestos risk on the site, and how to issue a certificate for reoccupation when you are satisfied the site is safe to re-occupy.  

Who is it for?

The qualification is suitable for anyone who: 

  • Undertakes clearance inspections and air monitoring of asbestos as part of their work (e.g. asbestos site analyst) 
  • Issues clearance certificates following asbestos clearance procedures 
  • Undertakes airborne fibre counting and requires an understanding of the external processes used in air sampling 
  • Manages asbestos site analysts 


The level of a qualification indicates the relative complexity and depth of knowledge and skills required to attain the qualification.  

This is a level 4 qualification in the BOHS qualifications framework, equivalent to NVQ Level 4 and HNC. 

How is it delivered?

The P404 course will require at least 11 hours of study time, of which at least 9 hours will be taught (teaching and practical assessments) and 2 hours will be independent (in your own time). In addition there will be 4 hours of examination time.


Content / Learning outcomes

Overall aim

To provide you with the theoretical knowledge and practical ability to undertake all four stages of the clearance test including that of the decontamination unit (DCU) and the issuing of a certificate for reoccupation and a DCU clearance certificate.

Learning outcomes

On completion of this module, you will be able to demonstrate the correct method for:

  • Understanding and accurately assessing all four stages of the clearance process
  • Identifying when faults are present and providing direction to the licensed contractor to rectify them
  • Understanding and utilisation of all safety controls including use of RPE/PPE and personal decontamination
  • Collecting and recording suitable and sufficient contextual information and photographs, and providing comprehensive certificates for reoccupation and clearance certificates for DCUs


  1. Role of the Analyst
  2. Stage One
  3. Stage Two
  4. Stage Three
  5. Stage Four
  6. Certificates and reporting results
  7. DCU clearance testing
  8. Quality control


You must pass three parts within 12 months: 

  • Practical assessment 
  • Written examination 1
  • Written examination 2


BOHS provides: 

  • Further information about the practical assessment and examinations plus sample examination questions

Why Choose a BOHS Qualification

Choose your BOHS Qualification

Find the full list of qualifications and courses on offer

Search Qualifications