Email this to a friend


Awards & Honours

3M Young Hygienist Award  

3M logo


 What is the award?
The 3M Young Hygienist Award is a BOHS award, sponsored by 3M UK and aims to recognise talent and stimulate professional development in young hygienists.

What is the prize?

  • Fully expensed trip to the AIHcE Spring Conference in Baltimore, 21 – 26 May 2016 – to cover return flights from the UK, hotel accommodation, entrance to the conference accommodation, entrance to the conference
  • One year’s complimentary membership of BOHS

Who is eligible?
Applicants must be:

  1. Aged 40 or under as at 31 December 2015
  2. A member of BOHS (includes all grades of membership except international partner membership) (if you are not a member of BOHS but would like to enter the competition, you can join here for as little as £68.
  3. Based in the UK

What is the timescale?

Entries are open from Monday 9 November and can be submitted up until midnight on Friday 8th January 2016
The successful entrant will be notified by end January 2016

How to apply?

Imagine you are asked to present to a group of university students, the title of the presentation is:  Why should I become an occupational hygienist?

  1. Develop a powerpoint presentation which you would use to support your talk to this group
  2. Upload to and promote via Twitter, tagging @bohsworld and @3M_UK_Safety, and using the hashtag #occhygienecareer

What will the competition winner need to do?

  • Arrange leave-of-absence with his/her employer.
  • Obtain a passport and any necessary visas for travel to the USA from the UK.
  • Arrange such insurance as may be directed by BOHS.
  • Negotiate with the BOHS with respect to an itinerary
  • Within six weeks of the trip to AIHcE, submit an article which will be considered for publication within the BOHS Exposure magazine. The article should describe the professional aspects of the trip and the benefits gained from it. 


Thomas Bedford Prize

This was first awarded in 1978 and is named after the first President of BOHS, Thomas Bedford CBE. It's the Society’s prime honour, marking outstanding contributions to the discipline of occupational hygiene, either in the general field or in work for the Society. The recipient is presented with a medal at the Annual Conference.   The winners are:



1978 D E Hickish  

1978 W H Walton OBE  

1978 C G Warner  

1978 P C G Isaac  

1978 R E Lane CBE  

1979 D Turner  

1980 C N Davies  

1980 T F Hatch  

1981 J S McLintock  

1984 S A Roach  

1986 G A Hedgecock  


1986 J G Jones

1987 L Le Bouffant  

1989 G W Crockford  

1989 D Doran  

1990 E J King  

1995 P J Hewitt  

1995 J Steel  

1996 C J Bradley  

1997 J G Underwood  

1998 J C McDonald  

1998 A McDonald


1997 J G Underwood  

1998 J C McDonald  

1998 A McDonald  

1999 D W Robinson  

2000 A Stewart  

2002 M H Claydon  

2002 H L Dalrymple  

2005 T L Ogden  

2011 M Piney   

2013 J Cherrie




Working For A Healthier Workplace – The Peter Isaac Award


This is awarded annually in recognition of an outstanding contribution to the reduction of ill-health at work.  The award can be made to an individual, team or organisation.  Judging is done by a panel appointed by Council.  The prize is £1000 to be used to subsidise attendance at any health and safety conference, plus a specially engraved trophy for the year and a framed certificate signed by the President to keep.  Also included is complimentary attendance at the Annual Conference and free Society membership for the individual (or a representative from the team or organisation).  

The Award was initiated to mark BOHS's Golden Jubilee in 2003, and the latest winner, is Chris Money of ExxonMobil, for his project 'Empowering Occupational Hygiene to those who need it".

Nominations have now closed for 2015. Look out for the award re-opening again for the 2016 award

Thomas Bedford Memorial Prize

Again named in honour of our first President, the Bedford Prize (as it is known) is BOHS's oldest award, instituted in 1967 and conferred not more than once every two years to the author or authors of the most outstanding paper published in the Annals of Occupational Hygiene.  In 2014 it was was jointly won by three scientists, Kate Jones and John Cocker of the Health and Safety Laboratory and Mark Piney of Piney Consulting Ltd. Kate Jones accepted a framed certificate and a shared cheque for £500 on behalf of the three winners for their paper in the Annals on isocyanate exposure control and evidence from biological monitoring.

Ted King and David Hickish Awards

These awards recognise the best candidates in each year from those who have achieved the BOHS Certificate of Operational Competence in Occupational Hygiene and Diploma of Professional Competence in Occupational Hygiene, respectively. They are named in honour of two past Presidents, both of whom were also Bedford Award recipients. The prize for each is £350. 

Brian Schmidt was the winner of the David Hickish Award for 2014 and Louise King and David Towler were the winners of the Ted King Award for 2014.

The Trevor Ogden Award

During its 60 year history, BOHS has made significant progress in its bid to protect worker health. This would not have been possible without the voluntary contributions of the Society’s members.

In recognition of this, and to mark the occasion of BOHS’ 60th anniversary in 2013, this award was introduced  to recognise outstanding voluntary contribution to the Society and to the profession of occupational hygiene.  It has now been awarded three times.  The first winner was Trevor Ogden himself , Bill Williams and now David O'Malley.

Honorary Lifetime Membership 

Nominations for honorary lifetime membership  from all voting members of BOHS. Council have introduced a nomination form which can be downloaded from from the downloads box on the left hand side. The decision(s) will be made at the December 2015  Council meeting, and any Honorary Memberships agreed will begin on the 1st January 2016.

© British Occupational Hygiene Society